Press Box - Bowl News

- - - - - - - - - -

Chick-fil-A Bowl statement on the College Football Playoff Selection Committee

ATLANTA (Oct. 16, 2013) -- The College Football Playoff today announced the members of its selection committee, which includes: 

Jeff Long, Chair    
Barry Alvarez  Lt. Gen. Mike Gould 
Pat Haden   Tom Jernstedt 
Oliver Luck   Archie Manning 
Tom Osborne   Dan Radakovich 
Condoleezza Rice       Mike Tranghese 
Steve Wieberg  Tyrone Willingham  

Read the full story from the College Football Playoff 

Statement from Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO:
“The Chick-fil-A Bowl wants to be among the first to congratulate the College Football Playoff on assembling such a strong and well-balanced group that will make up the selection committee. As a partner bowl in the new College Football Playoff, the Chick-fil-A Bowl looks forward to working with this distinguished committee of experts, led by Jeff Long, to help usher in this exciting new era of post-season college football.”

“The activation of this committee represents a significant milestone in this historic evolution of our sport. It represents possibly the single greatest positive change in how we determine our national champion and we are both excited and proud to be a part of it.”

The Chick-fil-A Bowl in the College Football Playoff
Beginning next season, the Chick-fil-A Bowl will join the Cotton, Fiesta, Orange, Rose and Sugar Bowls in making up the group of six bowls that will host the new College Football Playoffs.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl is set to host its first national Semifinal Game following the 2016 season and will host games in 2014 and 2015 featuring top-ranked teams as assigned by the selection committee. Atlanta has already announced its intent to bid on, and win, the rights to host the National Championship Game following the 2017 season.



Copyright 2013 Peach Bowl, Inc. and ebroadcasters media services, inc., All Rights Reserved.   !     !     !